Building a Mission Statement: Part One: Meandering Article About Goals

Alright, I’ve tried to write this properly about three times now. It’s time to stop caring.

I wanted a place to collect all my writings. No, I didn’t have any, but I always come up with ideas for them, so I figure one day I will finally have some. That’s totally fallacious, but whatever, neither of us actually cares.

I also wanted a place to get into arguments people about interesting subjects. Some might say, “Travis, that’s what comment sections are for!” That’s a good point, Some!  I’m just filthy garbage who doesn’t hang around websites waiting for someone to post a cool thing so I can spend two hours writing an article no one would read. I’m so sucky, I make my own websites so I can spend two hours writing things no will read. Then I don’t write the articles, and I lose my password, and I start them over again.

Whoa, paragraph three! This is going much better! But let’s talk about webfeel instead. I don’t think that’s a word, but I’m going to say it means “the experience of using a website”. Why not just say, “user experience”? Because I didn’t think of it until now.

I want my user experience/webfeel to be like using the world’s worst/best anthology. It should have a lot of stuff about a metric ton of topics, and that stuff should constantly be swelling until the figurative ton becomes literal and crushes us all to death. Want to know what I think about some terrible game from 2002 for some reason? It’ll have it. Want to know how my writing about that terrible game changed over the several reasons I insisted on talking about it? It’ll have those too! I might even put together a list of useful videos and articles on the subject, so you can witness and feel the awfulness.

HEAR MY CREED: OPINE. REVISE. ANNOTATE. COMPLAIN THAT YOU CAN’T HEAR WRITTEN WORDS.

Who is this for? To be honest, mostly me. I can’t specify an audience beyond that, because I don’t know if I would read this myself, and to be honest I’m not sure I’ll read this again. (Actually, that’s a lie. I have like three more articles to write based on translating this into something like civilized speech.)

Leave a Reply

